FANDOM


Rosetta-stone
Historic Card
This card has been rotated out of the Standard format and can only be played in historic decks
Name Vona's Hunger
Mana Cost C2Color B
Converted Mana Cost 3
Types Instant
Text Ascend (If you control ten or more permanents, you get the city's blessing for the rest of the game.)

Each opponent sacrifices a creature. If you have the city's blessing, instead each opponent sacrifices half the creatures they control, rounded up.

Expansion RIXR Rivals of Ixalan
Rarity Rare
Vona's Hunger
Card rulings (?)
2018-01-19 When Vona’s Hunger resolves, first the player whose turn it is (if that player is an opponent) chooses which creature or creatures they will sacrifice, then each other opponent in turn order does the same, then all chosen creatures are sacrificed at the same time. Players will know choices made by earlier players when making their choices.
2018-01-19 Once you have the city’s blessing, you have it for the rest of the game, even if you lose control of some or all of your permanents. The city’s blessing isn’t a permanent itself and can’t be removed by any effect.
2018-01-19 A permanent is any object on the battlefield, including tokens and lands. Spells and emblems aren’t permanents.
2018-01-19 If you cast a spell with ascend, you don’t get the city’s blessing until it resolves. Players may respond to that spell by trying to change whether you get the city’s blessing.
2018-01-19 If you control ten permanents but don’t control a permanent or resolving spell with ascend, you don’t get the city’s blessing. For example, if you control ten permanents, lose control of one, then cast Golden Demise, you won’t have the city’s blessing and the spell will affect creatures you control.
2018-01-19 If your tenth permanent enters the battlefield and then a permanent leaves the battlefield immediately afterwards (most likely due to the “Legend Rule” or due to being a creature with 0 toughness), you get the city’s blessing before it leaves the battlefield.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.