FANDOM



Transform is a triggered/activated* ability that allows you to flip double-faced cards over to their other face.

*Note: when Transform was introduced there were only cards with the triggered version available, although other upcoming sets might include activated versions as well.

Cards with transform can always be recognized by an icon:

Expansion InfoEdit

Transform was introduced into Magic Arena with Ixalan (closed beta).

VideoEdit

Watch this explanatory video to see how this game concept works.

Ixalan Spotlight Double-Faced Cards

Ixalan Spotlight Double-Faced Cards

Comprehensive RulesEdit

Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019)

  • 701.27. Transform
    • 701.27a To transform a permanent, turn it over so that its other face is up. Only permanents represented by double-faced cards can transform. (See rule 711, “Double-Faced Cards.”)
    • 701.27b Although transforming a permanent uses the same physical action as turning a permanent face up or face down, they are different game actions. Abilities that trigger when a permanent is turned face down won’t trigger when that permanent transforms, and so on.
    • 701.27c If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform a permanent that isn’t represented by a double-faced card, nothing happens.
    • 701.27d If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform a permanent, and the face that permanent would transform into is represented by an instant or sorcery card face, nothing happens.
    • 701.27e Some triggered abilities trigger when an object “transforms into” an object with a specified characteristic. Such an ability triggers if the object transforms and has the specified characteristic immediately after it transforms.
    • 701.27f If an activated or triggered ability of a permanent that isn’t a delayed triggered ability of that permanent tries to transform it, the permanent transforms only if it hasn’t transformed since the ability was put onto the stack. If a delayed triggered ability of a permanent tries to transform that permanent, the permanent transforms only if it hasn’t transformed since that delayed triggered ability was created. In either case, if the permanent has already transformed, the instruction to transform is ignored.

Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019)

  • 711. Double-Faced Cards
    • 711.1. A double-faced card has a Magic card face on each side rather than a Magic card face on one side and a Magic card back on the other. Each face may have abilities that allow the card to “transform,” or turn over to its other face. Tokens and cards with a Magic card back can’t transform. (See rule 701.27, “Transform.”)
      • 711.1a A double-faced card’s front face is marked by a front-face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins® and Core Set 2019 double-faced cards, the front-face symbol is a modified Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad™ block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich of the Krallenhorde in the Eldritch Moon™ set, the front-face symbol is a sun. On other Eldritch Moon double-faced cards, the front-face symbol is a full moon. On Ixalan™ and Rivals of Ixalan™ cards, the front-face symbol is a compass rose.
      • 711.1b A double-faced card’s back face is marked by a back-face symbol in its upper left corner. On Magic Origins and Core Set 2019 double-faced cards, the back-face symbol is a full Planeswalker icon. On cards in the Innistrad block and Shadows over Innistrad set, as well as on Ulrich, Uncontested Alpha in the Eldritch Moon set, the back-face symbol is a crescent moon. On other Eldritch Moon double-faced cards, the back-face symbol is a stylized image of Emrakul. On Ixalan and Rivals of Ixalan cards, the back-face symbol is a land icon.
      • 711.1c If the back face of a double-faced card is a creature, the front face of that card will have the back face’s power and toughness printed in gray above the power and toughness box. This is reminder text and has no effect on game play.
      • 711.1d Meld cards have a Magic card face on one side and half of an oversized Magic card face on the other. These aren’t double-faced cards and are subject to their own set of rules. See rule 712, “Meld Cards.”
    • 711.2. Players who are allowed to look at a double-faced card may look at both faces.
    • 711.3. Players must ensure that double-faced cards in hidden zones are indistinguishable from other cards in the same zone. To do this, the owner of a double-faced card may use completely opaque card sleeves or substitute a checklist card (see rule 713). Sanctioned tournaments have additional rules for playing with double-faced cards. See rule 100.6.
    • 711.4. Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.
      • 711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
      • 711.4b While a double-faced permanent’s back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. If a permanent is copying the back face of a double-faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double-faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.
    • 711.5. Only permanents represented by double-faced cards can transform. (See rule 701.27, “Transform.”) If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform any permanent that isn’t represented by a double-faced card, nothing happens.

      Example: A Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of Wildblood Pack (the back face of a double-faced card). The Clone will be a copy of the Wildblood Pack. Because the Clone is itself not a double-faced card, it can’t transform.

      Example: A player casts Cytoshape, causing a Kruin Outlaw (the front face of a double-faced card) to become a copy of Elite Vanguard (a 2/1 Human Soldier creature) until end of turn. The player then casts Moonmist, which reads, in part, “Transform all Humans.” Because the copy of Elite Vanguard is a double-faced card, it will transform. The resulting permanent will have its back face up, but it will still be a copy of Elite Vanguard that turn.

    • 711.6. If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform a permanent, and the face that permanent would transform into is represented by an instant or sorcery card face, nothing happens.
    • 711.7. If a double-faced card is cast as a spell, it’s put on the stack with its front face up. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
    • 711.8. A double-faced card enters the battlefield with its front face up by default. If a spell or ability puts it onto the battlefield “transformed,” it enters the battlefield with its back face up.
      • 711.8a If a player is instructed to put a card that isn’t a double-faced card onto the battlefield transformed, that card stays in its current zone.
    • 711.9. If an effect allows a player to cast a double-faced card as a face-down creature spell, or if a double-faced card enters the battlefield face down, it will have the characteristics given to it by the rule or effect that caused it to be face down. That card remains hidden, using either a face-down checklist card or opaque sleeves. See rule 707, “Face-Down Spells and Permanents.”
      • 711.9a While face down, a double-faced permanent can’t transform. If it is turned face up, it will have its front face up.
    • 711.10. Double-faced permanents can’t be turned face down. If a spell or ability tries to turn a double-faced permanent face down, nothing happens.
    • 711.11. A double-faced card that is exiled face down remains hidden, using either a face-down checklist card or opaque sleeves. See rule 713, “Checklist Cards.”
    • 711.12. When a double-faced permanent transforms, it doesn’t become a new object. Any effects that applied to that permanent will continue to apply to it after it transforms.

      Example: An effect gives Village Ironsmith (the front face of a double-faced card) +2/+2 until end of turn and then Village Ironsmith transforms into Ironfang. Ironfang will continue to get +2/+2 until end of turn.

    • 711.13. If an effect instructs a player to choose a card name, the player may name either face of a double-faced card but not both.

Transform Card ListEdit

36 results
Adanto, the First Fort Adanto, the First Fort (1)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Legion's Landing.)

Mana Tap: Add Color W.
C2Color W, Mana Tap: Create a 1/1 white Vampire creature token with lifelink.

XLNR
Arguel's Blood Fast Arguel's Blood Fast C1Color B (2)
Legendary Enchantment
C1Color B, Pay 2 life: Draw a card.

At the beginning of your upkeep, if you have 5 or less life, you may transform Arguel's Blood Fast.

XLNR
Atzal, Cave of Eternity Atzal, Cave of Eternity (3)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Journey to Eternity.)

Mana Tap: Add one mana of any color.
C3Color BColor G, Mana Tap: Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield.

RIXR
Azcanta, the Sunken Ruin Azcanta, the Sunken Ruin (2)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Search for Azcanta.)

Mana Tap: Add Color U.
C2Color U, Mana Tap: Look at the top four cards of your library. You may reveal a noncreature, nonland card from among them and put it into your hand. Put the rest on the bottom of your library in any order.

XLNR
Azor's Gateway Azor's Gateway C2 (2)
Legendary Artifact
C1, Mana Tap: Draw a card, then exile a card from your hand. If cards with five or more different converted mana costs are exiled with Azor's Gateway, you gain 5 life, untap Azor's Gateway, and transform it.
RIXM
Conqueror's Foothold Conqueror's Foothold (4)
Land
(Transforms from Conqueror's Galleon.)

Mana Tap: Add Color C.
C2, Mana Tap: Draw a card, then discard a card.
C4, Mana Tap: Draw a card.
C6, Mana Tap: Return target card from your graveyard to your hand.

XLNR
Conqueror's Galleon Conqueror's Galleon C4 (4)
Artifact — Vehicle (2/10)
When Conqueror's Galleon attacks, exile it at end of combat, then return it to the battlefield transformed under your control.

Crew 4 (Tap any number of creatures you control with total power 4 or more: This Vehicle becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.)

XLNR
Dowsing Dagger Dowsing Dagger C2 (2)
Artifact — Equipment
When Dowsing Dagger enters the battlefield, target opponent creates two 0/2 green Plant creature tokens with defender.

Equipped creature gets +2/+1.
Whenever equipped creature deals combat damage to a player, you may transform Dowsing Dagger.
Equip C2

XLNR
Golden Guardian Golden Guardian C4 (4)
Artifact Creature — Golem (4/4)
Defender

C2: Golden Guardian fights another target creature you control. When Golden Guardian dies this turn, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control.

RIXR
Gold-Forge Garrison Gold-Forge Garrison (4)
Land
(Transforms from Golden Guardian.)

Mana Tap: Add two mana of any one color.
C4, Mana Tap: Create a 4/4 colorless Golem artifact creature token.

RIXR
Growing Rites of Itlimoc Growing Rites of Itlimoc C2Color G (3)
Legendary Enchantment
When Growing Rites of Itlimoc enters the battlefield, look at the top four cards of your library. You may reveal a creature card from among them and put it into your hand. Put the rest on the bottom of your library in any order.

At the beginning of your end step, if you control four or more creatures, transform Growing Rites of Itlimoc.

XLNR
Hadana's Climb Hadana's Climb C1Color GColor U (3)
Legendary Enchantment
At the beginning of combat on your turn, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature you control. Then if that creature has three or more +1/+1 counters on it, transform Hadana's Climb.
RIXR
Itlimoc, Cradle of the Sun Itlimoc, Cradle of the Sun (3)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Growing Rites of Itlimoc.)

Mana Tap: Add Color G.
Mana Tap: Add Color G for each creature you control.

XLNR
Journey to Eternity Journey to Eternity C1Color BColor G (3)
Legendary Enchantment — Aura
Enchant creature you control

When enchanted creature dies, return it to the battlefield under your control, then return Journey to Eternity to the battlefield transformed under your control.

RIXR
Kenrith's Transformation Kenrith's Transformation C1Color G (2)
Enchantment — Aura
Enchant creature

When Kenrith's Transformation enters the battlefield, draw a card.
Enchanted creature loses all abilities and is a green Elk creature with base power and toughness 3/3. (It loses all other card types and creature types.)

ELDU
Legion's Landing Legion's Landing Color W (1)
Legendary Enchantment
When Legion's Landing enters the battlefield, create a 1/1 white Vampire creature token with lifelink.

When you attack with three or more creatures, transform Legion's Landing.

XLNR
Lost Vale Lost Vale (2)
Land
(Transforms from Dowsing Dagger.)

Mana Tap: Add three mana of any one color.

XLNR
Metzali, Tower of Triumph Metzali, Tower of Triumph (2)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Path of Mettle.)

Mana Tap: Add one mana of any color.
C1Color R, Mana Tap: Metzali, Tower of Triumph deals 2 damage to each opponent.
C2Color W, Mana Tap: Choose a creature at random that attacked this turn. Destroy that creature.

RIXR
Nicol Bolas, the Ravager Nicol Bolas, the Ravager C1Color UColor BColor R (4)
Legendary Creature — Elder Dragon (4/4)
Flying

When Nicol Bolas, the Ravager enters the battlefield, each opponent discards a card.
C4Color UColor BColor R: Exile Nicol Bolas, the Ravager, then return him to the battlefield transformed under his owner's control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.

M19M
Path of Mettle Path of Mettle Color RColor W (2)
Legendary Enchantment
When Path of Mettle enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to each creature that doesn't have first strike, double strike, vigilance, or haste.

Whenever you attack with at least two creatures that have first strike, double strike, vigilance, and/or haste, transform Path of Mettle.

RIXR
Primal Amulet Primal Amulet C4 (4)
Artifact
Instant and sorcery spells you cast cost C1 less to cast.

Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, put a charge counter on Primal Amulet. Then if there are four or more charge counters on it, you may remove those counters and transform it.

XLNR
Primal Wellspring Primal Wellspring (4)
Land
(Transforms from Primal Amulet.)

Mana Tap: Add one mana of any color. When that mana is spent to cast an instant or sorcery spell, copy that spell and you may choose new targets for the copy.

XLNR
Profane Procession Profane Procession C1Color WColor B (3)
Legendary Enchantment
C3Color WColor B: Exile target creature. Then if there are three or more cards exiled with Profane Procession, transform it.
RIXR
Sanctum of the Sun Sanctum of the Sun (2)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Azor's Gateway.)

Mana Tap: Add X mana of any one color, where X is your life total.

RIXM
Search for Azcanta Search for Azcanta C1Color U (2)
Legendary Enchantment
At the beginning of your upkeep, look at the top card of your library. You may put it into your graveyard. Then if you have seven or more cards in your graveyard, you may transform Search for Azcanta.
XLNR
Spires of Orazca Spires of Orazca (2)
Land
(Transforms from Thaumatic Compass.)

Mana Tap: Add Color C.
Mana Tap: Untap target attacking creature an opponent controls and remove it from combat.

XLNR
Spitfire Bastion Spitfire Bastion (4)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Vance's Blasting Cannons.)

Mana Tap: Add Color R.
C2Color R, Mana Tap: Spitfire Bastion deals 3 damage to any target.

XLNR
Storm the Vault Storm the Vault C2Color UColor R (4)
Legendary Enchantment
Whenever one or more creatures you control deal combat damage to a player, create a Treasure token. (It's an artifact with "Mana Tap, Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color.")

At the beginning of your end step, if you control five or more artifacts, transform Storm the Vault.

RIXR
Temple of Aclazotz Temple of Aclazotz (2)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Arguel's Blood Fast.)

Mana Tap: Add Color B.
Mana Tap, Sacrifice a creature: You gain life equal to the sacrificed creature's toughness.

XLNR
Thaumatic Compass Thaumatic Compass C2 (2)
Artifact
C3, Mana Tap: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.

At the beginning of your end step, if you control seven or more lands, transform Thaumatic Compass.

XLNR
Tomb of the Dusk Rose Tomb of the Dusk Rose (3)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Profane Procession.)

Mana Tap: Add one mana of any color.
C2Color WColor B, Mana Tap: Put a creature card exiled with this permanent onto the battlefield under your control.

RIXR
Treasure Cove Treasure Cove (2)
Land
(Transforms from Treasure Map.)

Mana Tap: Add Color C.
Mana Tap, Sacrifice a Treasure: Draw a card.

XLNR
Treasure Map Treasure Map C2 (2)
Artifact
C1, Mana Tap: Scry 1. Put a landmark counter on Treasure Map. Then if there are three or more landmark counters on it, remove those counters, transform Treasure Map, and create three Treasure tokens. (They're artifacts with "Mana Tap, Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color.")
XLNR
Vance's Blasting Cannons Vance's Blasting Cannons C3Color R (4)
Legendary Enchantment
At the beginning of your upkeep, exile the top card of your library. If it's a nonland card, you may cast that card this turn.

Whenever you cast your third spell in a turn, you may transform Vance's Blasting Cannons.

XLNR
Vault of Catlacan Vault of Catlacan (4)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Storm the Vault.)

Mana Tap: Add one mana of any color.
Mana Tap: Add Color U for each artifact you control.

RIXR
Winged Temple of Orazca Winged Temple of Orazca (3)
Legendary Land
(Transforms from Hadana's Climb.)

Mana Tap: Add one mana of any color.
C1Color GColor U, Mana Tap: Target creature you control gains flying and gets +X/+X until end of turn, where X is its power.

RIXR


Keywords

Abilities Evergreen Abilities: DeathtouchDefenderDouble StrikeEnchantEquipFirst StrikeFlashFlyingHasteHexproofIndestructibleLifelinkMenaceProwessReachTrampleVigilance
Other Keyword Abilities: AfflictAftermathAfterlifeAscendConvokeCrewCyclingEmbalmEternalizeFabricateImproviseJump-StartKickerMentorRiotSpectacleTransform
Ability Words  AddendumEnrageRaidRevoltUndergrowth

Actions AdaptExertExploreSurveil
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.