FANDOM



Spectacle is a static keyword ability which gives a spell an alternative casting cost. A player can cast a spell with Spectacle for its spectacle cost instead of regular mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn. Some spells with Spectacle have an altered effect (bonus or additional effect).[1]

Expansion InfoEdit

Spectacle was introduced into Magic Arena with Ravnica Allegiance (open beta).

VideoEdit

Watch this explanatory video to see how Spectacle works.

Rakdos Mechanic Spotlight Spectacle

Rakdos Mechanic Spotlight Spectacle

Comprehensive RulesEdit

Comprehensive Rules Glossary (October 4, 2019)

Spectacle
A keyword ability that allows certain spells to be cast for an alternative cost if an opponent has lost life. See rule 702.136, “Spectacle.”

Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019)

  • 702.136. Spectacle
    • 702.136a Spectacle is a static ability that functions on the stack. “Spectacle [cost]” means “You may pay [cost] rather than pay this spell’s mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.” Paying a spell’s spectacle cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019)

  • 601.2b If the spell is modal, the player announces the mode choice (see rule 700.2). If the player wishes to splice any cards onto the spell (see rule 702.46), they reveal those cards in their hand. If the spell has alternative or additional costs that will be paid as it’s being cast such as buyback or kicker costs (see rules 118.8 and 118.9), the player announces their intentions to pay any or all of those costs (see rule 601.2f). A player can’t apply two alternative methods of casting or two alternative costs to a single spell. If the spell has a variable cost that will be paid as it’s being cast (such as an CX in its mana cost; see rule 107.3), the player announces the value of that variable. If the value of that variable is defined in the text of the spell by a choice that player would make later in the announcement or resolution of the spell, that player makes that choice at this time instead of that later time. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes hybrid mana symbols, the player announces the nonhybrid equivalent cost they intend to pay. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes Phyrexian mana symbols, the player announces whether they intend to pay 2 life or the corresponding colored mana cost for each of those symbols. Previously made choices (such as choosing to cast a spell with flashback from a graveyard or choosing to cast a creature with morph face down) may restrict the player’s options when making these choices.

Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019)

  • 601.2f The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. If multiple cost reductions apply, the player may apply them in any order. If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be C0. It can’t be reduced to less than C0. Once the total cost is determined, any effects that directly affect the total cost are applied. Then the resulting total cost becomes “locked in.” If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect.

Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019)

  • 601.2g If the total cost includes a mana payment, the player then has a chance to activate mana abilities (see rule 605, “Mana Abilities”). Mana abilities must be activated before costs are paid.

Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019)

  • 601.2h The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.

    Example: You cast Altar’s Reap, which costs C1Color B and has an additional cost of sacrificing a creature. You sacrifice Thunderscape Familiar, whose effect makes your black spells cost C1 less to cast. Because a spell’s total cost is “locked in” before payments are actually made, you pay Color B, not C1Color B, even though you’re sacrificing the Familiar.

Spectacle Card ListEdit

10 results
Blade Juggler Blade Juggler C4Color B (5)
Creature — Human Rogue (3/2)
Spectacle C2Color B (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)

When Blade Juggler enters the battlefield, it deals 1 damage to you and you draw a card.

RNAC
Dead Revels Dead Revels C3Color B (4)
Sorcery
Spectacle C1Color B (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)

Return up to two target creature cards from your graveyard to your hand.

RNAC
Drill Bit Drill Bit C2Color B (3)
Sorcery
Spectacle Color B (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)

Target player reveals their hand. You choose a nonland card from it. That player discards that card.

RNAU
Hackrobat Hackrobat C1Color BColor R (3)
Creature — Human Rogue (2/3)
Spectacle Color BColor R (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)

Color B: Hackrobat gains deathtouch until end of turn.
Color R: Hackrobat gets +2/-2 until end of turn.

RNAU
Light Up the Stage Light Up the Stage C2Color R (3)
Sorcery
Spectacle Color R (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)

Exile the top two cards of your library. Until the end of your next turn, you may play those cards.

RNAU
Rafter Demon Rafter Demon C2Color BColor R (4)
Creature — Demon (4/2)
Spectacle C3Color BColor R (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)

When Rafter Demon enters the battlefield, if its spectacle cost was paid, each opponent discards a card.

RNAC
Rix Maadi Reveler Rix Maadi Reveler C1Color R (2)
Creature — Human Shaman (2/2)
Spectacle C2Color BColor R (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)

When Rix Maadi Reveler enters the battlefield, discard a card, then draw a card. If Rix Maadi Reveler's spectacle cost was paid, instead discard your hand, then draw three cards.

RNAR
Skewer the Critics Skewer the Critics C2Color R (3)
Sorcery
Spectacle Color R (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)

Skewer the Critics deals 3 damage to any target.

RNAC
Spawn of Mayhem Spawn of Mayhem C2Color BColor B (4)
Creature — Demon (4/4)
Spectacle C1Color BColor B (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)

Flying, trample
At the beginning of your upkeep, Spawn of Mayhem deals 1 damage to each player. Then if you have 10 or less life, put a +1/+1 counter on Spawn of Mayhem.

RNAM
Spikewheel Acrobat Spikewheel Acrobat C3Color R (4)
Creature — Human Rogue (5/2)
Spectacle C2Color R (You may cast this spell for its spectacle cost rather than its mana cost if an opponent lost life this turn.)
RNAC


Keywords

Abilities Evergreen Abilities: DeathtouchDefenderDouble StrikeEnchantEquipFirst StrikeFlashFlyingHasteHexproofIndestructibleLifelinkMenaceProwessReachTrampleVigilance
Other Keyword Abilities: AfflictAftermathAfterlifeAscendConvokeCrewCyclingEmbalmEternalizeFabricateImproviseJump-StartKickerMentorRiotSpectacleTransform
Ability Words  AddendumEnrageRaidRevoltUndergrowth

Actions AdaptExertExploreSurveil

References Edit

Stub icon
Stub Article
This article is a Stub that is short and needs improvement.
You can help the Magic Arena Wiki by expanding it.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.