FANDOM


Rosetta-stone
Historic Card
This card has been rotated out of the Standard format and can only be played in historic decks
Name Protean Raider
Mana Cost C1Color UColor R
Converted Mana Cost 3
Types Creature — Shapeshifter Pirate
Text Raid — If you attacked with a creature this turn, you may have Protean Raider enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.
Flavor Imitation is the sincerest form of piracy.
P/T (2/2)
Expansion RIXR Rivals of Ixalan
Rarity Rare
Protean Raider
Card rulings (?)
2018-01-19 Protean Raider copies exactly what was printed on the original creature (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn’t copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.
2018-01-19 If the chosen creature has CX in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.
2018-01-19 If the chosen creature is copying something else (for example, if the chosen creature is another Protean Raider), then Protean Raider enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen creature copied.
2018-01-19 If the chosen creature is a token, Protean Raider copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that created the token. Protean Raider is not a token in this case.
2018-01-19 Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when Protean Raider enters the battlefield. Any “as [this creature] enters the battlefield” or “[this creature] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the chosen creature will also work.
2018-01-19 If Protean Raider somehow enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature, Protean Raider can’t become a copy of that creature. You may choose only a creature that’s already on the battlefield.
2018-01-19 Raid abilities care only that you attacked with a creature. It doesn’t matter how many creatures you attacked with, or which opponent or planeswalker controlled by an opponent those creatures attacked.
2018-01-19 Raid abilities evaluate the entire turn to see if you attacked with a creature. That creature doesn’t have to still be on the battlefield. Similarly, the player or planeswalker it attacked doesn’t have to still be in the game or on the battlefield, respectively.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.