FANDOM


Name Narset of the Ancient Way
Mana Cost C1Color UColor RColor W
Converted Mana Cost 4
Types Legendary Planeswalker — Narset
Text +1: You gain 2 life. Add Color U, Color R, or Color W. Spend this mana only to cast a noncreature spell.

−2: Draw a card, then you may discard a card. When you discard a nonland card this way, Narset of the Ancient Way deals damage equal to that card's converted mana cost to target creature or planeswalker.
−6: You get an emblem with "Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this emblem deals 2 damage to any target."

Loyalty 4
Expansion IKOM Ikoria Lair of Behemoths
Rarity Mythic Rare
Narset of the Ancient Way
Card rulings (?)
2020-04-17 Because it’s a loyalty ability, Narset’s first ability isn’t a mana ability. It can be activated only any time you could cast a sorcery. It uses the stack and can be responded to.
2020-04-17 Narset’s second ability goes on the stack without a target. While that ability is resolving, you draw a card and may choose to discard a card. When you discard a nonland card this way, the reflexive triggered ability triggers and you pick a target to be dealt damage. This is different from effects that say “If you do . . .” in that you choose a target after looking at the card you draw and players can respond to the reflexive triggered ability knowing how much damage will be dealt.
2020-04-17 You can discard a card even if Narset leaves the battlefield before her middle ability resolves. The reflexive triggered ability will still trigger if you discard a nonland card.
2020-04-17 If a card you discard has CX in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.
2020-04-17 An ability that triggers when a player casts a spell resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
2020-04-17 The emblem created by Narset’s last ability is colorless. The damage it deals is from a colorless source.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.