FANDOM


Rosetta-stone
Historic Card
This card can only be played in historic decks
Name Meddling Mage
Mana Cost Color WColor U
Converted Mana Cost 2
Types Creature — Human Wizard
Text As Meddling Mage enters the battlefield, choose a nonland card name.

Spells with the chosen name can't be cast.

Flavor "This violent wasteland is an indictment of its people. These cowards lack the will to oppose disorder."
P/T (2/2)
Expansion ARBR Alara Reborn
Rarity Rare
Meddling Mage
Card rulings (?)
2009-05-01 No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Meddling Mage’s ability starts to work.
2009-05-01 Spells with the chosen name that somehow happen to already be on the stack when Meddling Mage enters the battlefield are not affected by Meddling Mage’s ability.
2009-05-01 Although the named card can’t be cast, it can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability (if it’s a permanent card).
2009-05-01 You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can’t be cast. The other half is unaffected.
2009-05-01 If a card with morph is named, that card may still be cast face down. Face-down cards have no names.
2009-05-01 Once Meddling Mage leaves the battlefield, the named card can be cast again.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.