FANDOM


Improvise is a keyword ability introduced in Aether Revolt. It allows a player to tap artifacts rather than pay some of the mana cost of a spell with this ability, giving C1 for each Artifact tapped. This cannot be used to pay colored mana costs.

Card/Color DistributionEdit

Improvise can often be found on Color U, Color B, Color R and colorless cards.

Expansion InfoEdit

Improvise was introduced into Magic Arena with Aether Revolt (closed beta).

VideoEdit

Watch this explanatory video to see how this game concept works.

Aether Revolt Spotlight Improvise

Aether Revolt Spotlight Improvise

Comprehensive RulesEdit

Comprehensive Rules Glossary (October 4, 2019)

Improvise
A keyword ability that lets you tap artifacts rather than pay mana to cast a spell. See rule 702.125, “Improvise.”

Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019)

  • 702.125. Improvise
    • 702.125a Improvise is a static ability that functions while the spell with improvise is on the stack. “Improvise” means “For each generic mana in this spell’s total cost, you may tap an untapped artifact you control rather than pay that mana.”
    • 702.125b The improvise ability isn’t an additional or alternative cost and applies only after the total cost of the spell with improvise is determined.
    • 702.125c Multiple instances of improvise on the same spell are redundant.

Rule ClarificationsEdit

  • Improvise doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost.
  • When calculating a spell’s total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Improvise applies *after the total cost is calculated.
  • Because improvise isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.
  • Improvise can’t pay for Color WColor UColor BColor RColor GColor C mana symbols in a spell’s total cost.
  • Improvise can’t be used to pay for anything other than the cost of casting the spell. For example, it can’t be used during the resolution of an ability that says “Counter target spell unless its controller pays C3.”
  • If an artifact you control has a mana ability with Mana Tap in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with improvise will result in the artifact being tapped when you pay the spell’s costs. You won’t be able to tap it again for improvise. Similarly, if you sacrifice an artifact to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with improvise, that artifact won’t be on the battlefield when you pay the spell’s costs, so you won’t be able to tap it for improvise.
  • When using improvise to cast a spell with CX in its mana cost, first choose the value for X. That choice, plus any cost increases or decreases, will determine the spell’s total cost. Then you can tap artifacts you control to help pay that cost. For example, if you cast Whir of Invention (a spell with improvise and mana cost CXColor UColor UColor U) and choose X to be 3, the total cost is C3Color UColor UColor U. If you tap two artifacts, you’ll have to pay C1Color UColor UColor U.
  • Tapping an artifact won’t cause its abilities to stop applying unless those abilities say so.
  • Equipment attached to a creature doesn’t become tapped when that creature becomes tapped, and tapping that Equipment doesn’t cause the creature to become tapped.[1]

Improvise CardlistEdit

0 results

Keywords

Abilities Evergreen Abilities: DeathtouchDefenderDouble StrikeEnchantEquipFirst StrikeFlashFlyingHasteHexproofIndestructibleLifelinkMenaceProwessReachTrampleVigilance
Other Keyword Abilities: AfflictAftermathAfterlifeAscendConvokeCrewCyclingEmbalmEternalizeFabricateImproviseJump-StartKickerMentorRiotSpectacleTransform
Ability Words  AddendumEnrageRaidRevoltUndergrowth

Actions AdaptExertExploreSurveil

ReferencesEdit

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.