FANDOM


RIP
Card No Longer Available
This card was removed from MTG Arena on Sept 27th 2018 as part of the open beta patch.
Name Harsh Mentor
Mana Cost C1Color R
Converted Mana Cost 2
Types Creature — Human Cleric
Text Whenever an opponent activates an ability of an artifact, creature, or land on the battlefield, if it isn't a mana ability, Harsh Mentor deals 2 damage to that player.
Flavor "Fight through it."
P/T (2/2)
Expansion AKHR Amonkhet
Rarity Rare
Harsh Mentor
Card rulings (?)
2017-04-18 Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities (such as equip) are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. An activated mana ability is one that produces mana as it resolves, not one that costs mana to activate. Notably, exerting a creature isn’t an activated ability.
2017-04-18 Harsh Mentor’s ability doesn’t trigger when an opponent activates an ability of a card in hand (such as cycling) or a card in a graveyard (such as embalm), even if that causes a card to be put onto the battlefield.
2017-04-18 Harsh Mentor’s ability resolves before the ability that caused it to trigger.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.