FANDOM


Name Gargos, Vicious Watcher
Mana Cost C3Color GColor GColor G
Converted Mana Cost 6
Types Legendary Creature — Hydra
Text Vigilance

Hydra spells you cast cost C4 less to cast.
Whenever a creature you control becomes the target of a spell, Gargos, Vicious Watcher fights up to one target creature you don't control.

P/T (8/7)
Expansion M20R Core Set 2020
Rarity Rare
Gargos, Vicious Watcher
Card rulings (?)
2019-07-12 To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you’re paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions (such as that of Gargos). The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
2019-07-12 Gargos’s cost-reduction ability affects only generic mana in a Hydra’s cost. For example, if you cast a Hydra spell with mana cost C2Color GColor GColor G, it will cost Color GColor GColor G to cast, not Color G.
2019-07-12 If a spell has CX in its mana cost, you choose the value for X before applying cost reductions. For example, if you cast a Hydra spell with mana cost CXColor GColor G and choose for X to be 6, you pay C2Color GColor G. Any of that Hydra’s abilities that refer to X still uses 6 as the value for X regardless of what you actually paid.
2019-07-12 Gargos’s cost-reduction ability applies only while it’s on the battlefield. Gargos doesn’t reduce its own cost.
2019-07-12 Gargos’s controller chooses which creature (if any) Gargos will fight, not the controller of the spell.
2019-07-12 If a spell targets one creature you control multiple times, Gargos’s ability triggers once. If that spell targets multiple creatures you control, Gargos’s ability triggers once for each of those creatures.
2019-07-12 Gargos’s triggered ability resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
2019-07-12 If the target creature is an illegal target when Gargos’s last ability tries to resolve, the ability doesn’t resolve. If Gargos is no longer on the battlefield, the target creature won’t deal or be dealt damage.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.