FANDOM


Explore is a Keyword Action that appears on Creature cards. You first reveal the top card of your Library. If it's a Land put in in your hand. If not, you put a +1/+1 counter on the creature and then decide if you want to keep the revealed card on top of your library or put it in your Graveyard.

Expansion InfoEdit

Explore was introduced into Magic Arena with Ixalan (closed beta).

VideoEdit

Watch this explanatory video to see how this game concept works.

Ixalan Spotlight Explore

Ixalan Spotlight Explore

Comprehensive RulesEdit

Comprehensive Rules Glossary (October 4, 2019)

Explore
A keyword action that causes a player to reveal the top card of their library and then to take different actions depending on whether a land card is revealed this way. See rule 701.39, “Explore.”

Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019)

  • 701.39. Explore
    • 701.39a Certain abilities instruct a permanent to explore. To do so, that permanent’s controller reveals the top card of their library. If a land card is revealed this way, that player puts that card into their hand. Otherwise, that player puts a +1/+1 counter on the exploring permanent and may put the revealed card into their graveyard.
    • 701.39b A permanent “explores” after the process described in rule 701.39a is complete, even if some or all of those actions were impossible.
    • 701.39c If a permanent changes zones before an effect causes it to explore, its last known information is used to determine which object explored and who controlled it.

RulingsEdit

  • Once an ability that causes a creature to explore begins to resolve, no player may take any other actions until it’s done. Notably, opponents can’t try to remove the exploring creature after you reveal a nonland card but before it receives a counter.
  • If no card is revealed, most likely because that player’s library is empty, the exploring creature receives a +1/+1 counter.
  • If a resolving spell or ability instructs a specific creature to explore but that creature has left the battlefield, the creature still explores. If you reveal a nonland card this way, you won’t put a +1/+1 counter on anything, but you may put the revealed card into your graveyard. Effects that trigger “whenever a creature you control explores” trigger if appropriate.[1]

Explore Card ListEdit

19 results
Brazen Buccaneers Brazen Buccaneers C3Color R (4)
Creature — Human Pirate (2/2)
Haste

When Brazen Buccaneers enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

XLNC
Deadeye Tracker Deadeye Tracker Color B (1)
Creature — Human Pirate (1/1)
C1Color B, Mana Tap: Exile two target cards from an opponent's graveyard. Deadeye Tracker explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)
XLNR
Dire Fleet Interloper Dire Fleet Interloper C3Color B (4)
Creature — Human Pirate (2/2)
Menace

When Dire Fleet Interloper enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

XLNC
Emissary of Sunrise Emissary of Sunrise C2Color W (3)
Creature — Human Cleric (2/1)
First strike

When Emissary of Sunrise enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

XLNU
Emperor's Vanguard Emperor's Vanguard C3Color G (4)
Creature — Human Scout (4/3)
Whenever Emperor's Vanguard deals combat damage to a player, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)
XLNR
Enter the Unknown Enter the Unknown Color G (1)
Sorcery
Target creature you control explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on the creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

You may play an additional land this turn.

RIXU
Ixalli's Diviner Ixalli's Diviner C1Color G (2)
Creature — Human Druid (0/3)
When Ixalli's Diviner enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)
XLNC
Jadelight Ranger Jadelight Ranger C1Color GColor G (3)
Creature — Merfolk Scout (2/1)
When Jadelight Ranger enters the battlefield, it explores, then it explores again. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard. Then repeat this process.)
RIXR
Lurking Chupacabra Lurking Chupacabra C3Color B (4)
Creature — Beast Horror (2/3)
Whenever a creature you control explores, target creature an opponent controls gets -2/-2 until end of turn.
XLNU
Merfolk Branchwalker Merfolk Branchwalker C1Color G (2)
Creature — Merfolk Scout (2/1)
When Merfolk Branchwalker enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)
XLNU
Path of Discovery Path of Discovery C3Color G (4)
Enchantment
Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on the creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)
RIXR
Queen's Agent Queen's Agent C5Color B (6)
Creature — Vampire Scout (3/3)
Lifelink

When Queen's Agent enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

XLNC
Seekers' Squire Seekers' Squire C1Color B (2)
Creature — Human Scout (1/2)
When Seekers' Squire enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)
XLNU
Shadowed Caravel Shadowed Caravel C2 (2)
Artifact — Vehicle (2/2)
Whenever a creature you control explores, put a +1/+1 counter on Shadowed Caravel.

Crew 2 (Tap any number of creatures you control with total power 2 or more: This Vehicle becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.)

XLNR
Siren Lookout Siren Lookout C2Color U (3)
Creature — Siren Pirate (1/2)
Flying

When Siren Lookout enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

XLNC
Sunrise Seeker Sunrise Seeker C4Color W (5)
Creature — Human Scout (3/3)
Vigilance

When Sunrise Seeker enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

XLNC
Tishana's Wayfinder Tishana's Wayfinder C2Color G (3)
Creature — Merfolk Scout (2/2)
When Tishana's Wayfinder enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)
XLNC
Tomb Robber Tomb Robber C2Color B (3)
Creature — Human Pirate (1/1)
Menace

C1, Discard a card: Tomb Robber explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)

RIXR
Wildgrowth Walker Wildgrowth Walker C1Color G (2)
Creature — Elemental (1/3)
Whenever a creature you control explores, put a +1/+1 counter on Wildgrowth Walker and you gain 3 life.
XLNU
Keywords

Abilities Evergreen Abilities: DeathtouchDefenderDouble StrikeEnchantEquipFirst StrikeFlashFlyingHasteHexproofIndestructibleLifelinkMenaceProwessReachTrampleVigilance
Other Keyword Abilities: AfflictAftermathAfterlifeAscendConvokeCrewCyclingEmbalmEternalizeFabricateImproviseJump-StartKickerMentorRiotSpectacleTransform
Ability Words  AddendumEnrageRaidRevoltUndergrowth

Actions AdaptExertExploreSurveil

ReferencesEdit

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.