FANDOM


RIP
Card No Longer Available
This card was removed from MTG Arena on Sept 27th 2018 as part of the open beta patch.
Name Consul's Shieldguard
Mana Cost C3Color W
Converted Mana Cost 4
Types Creature — Dwarf Soldier
Text When Consul's Shieldguard enters the battlefield, you get EnergyEnergy (two energy counters).

Whenever Consul's Shieldguard attacks, you may pay Energy. If you do, another target attacking creature gains indestructible until end of turn.

P/T (3/4)
Expansion KLDU Kaladesh
Rarity Uncommon
Consul's Shieldguard
Card rulings (?)
2017-02-09 Energy is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
2017-02-09 Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
2017-02-09 Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
2017-02-09 If an effect says you get one or more Energy, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more Energy, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
2017-02-09 Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
2017-02-09 You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
2017-02-09 Some triggered abilities state that you “may pay” a certain amount of Energy. You can’t pay that amount multiple times to multiply the effect. You simply choose whether or not to pay that amount of Energy as the ability resolves, and no player may take actions to try to stop the ability’s effect after you make your choice.
2017-02-09 If a triggered ability with one or more targets states that you “may pay” some amount of Energy, and each permanent that it targets has become an illegal target, the ability doesn’t resolve. You can’t pay Energy even if you want to.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.