FANDOM


RIP
Card No Longer Available
This card was removed from MTG Arena on Sept 27th 2018 as part of the open beta patch.
Name Bontu's Monument
Mana Cost C3
Converted Mana Cost 3
Types Legendary Artifact
Text Black creature spells you cast cost C1 less to cast.

Whenever you cast a creature spell, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain 1 life.

Flavor "The worthy shall strive for greatness. Supremacy in life leads to supremacy in the afterlife."

—Monument inscription

Expansion AKHU Amonkhet
Rarity Uncommon
Bontu's Monument
Card rulings (?)
2017-04-18 In a Two-Headed Giant game, the triggered ability of Bontu’s Monument causes the opposing team to lose 2 life and you gain 1 life.
2017-04-18 Each Monument has one ability that reduces the cost of creature spells of a certain color, and a triggered ability that triggers whenever you cast any creature spell—not just a creature spell of that color.
2017-04-18 A creature spell that’s multiple colors is each of those colors. For example, Ahn-Crop Champion is a white creature and a green creature, so it can benefit from either Oketra’s Monument or Rhonas’s Monument—or both at once.
2017-04-18 To determine the total cost of a creature spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you’re paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the creature remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
2017-04-18 Each Monument’s triggered ability triggers as the creature spell is cast and resolves before that creature spell resolves. The ability will resolve even if that creature spell is countered.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.