FANDOM


Name Blood Aspirant
Mana Cost C1Color R
Converted Mana Cost 2
Types Creature — Satyr Berserker
Text Whenever you sacrifice a permanent, put a +1/+1 counter on Blood Aspirant.

C1Color R, Mana Tap, Sacrifice a creature or enchantment: Blood Aspirant deals 1 damage to target creature. That creature can't block this turn.

Flavor It's a small step from revel to bloodbath.
P/T (1/1)
Expansion THBU Theros Beyond Death
Rarity Uncommon
Blood Aspirant
Card rulings (?)
2020-01-24 Blood Aspirant’s first ability is a triggered ability, not an activated ability. It doesn’t allow you to sacrifice a permanent whenever you want; rather, you need some other way of sacrificing permanents, such as its second ability.
2020-01-24 If you sacrifice a permanent as part of casting a spell or activating an ability, Blood Aspirant’s first ability will resolve before that spell or ability.
2020-01-24 Blood Aspirant can be sacrificed to pay for the cost of its own last ability.
2020-01-24 If the target creature is an illegal target by the time Blood Aspirant’s last ability tries to resolve, the ability won’t resolve. The creature can block as normal. If the target is legal but not dealt damage (most likely because of a prevention effect), it can’t block this turn.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.