FANDOM


RIP
Card No Longer Available
This card was removed from MTG Arena on Sept 27th 2018 as part of the open beta patch.
Name Aetherstorm Roc
Mana Cost C2Color WColor W
Converted Mana Cost 4
Types Creature — Bird
Text Flying

Whenever Aetherstorm Roc or another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you get Energy (an energy counter).
Whenever Aetherstorm Roc attacks, you may pay EnergyEnergy. If you do, put a +1/+1 counter on it and tap up to one target creature defending player controls.

P/T (3/3)
Expansion KLDR Kaladesh
Rarity Rare
Aetherstorm Roc
Card rulings (?)
2016-09-20 A creature entering the battlefield at the same time as Aetherstorm Roc causes its first triggered ability to trigger.
2016-09-20 Aetherstorm Roc’s second triggered ability resolves before blockers are chosen. A creature tapped this way won’t be able to block.
2016-09-20 You don’t have to target a creature with Aetherstorm Roc’s last ability. If you do choose a target, and that target becomes illegal, the ability doesn’t resolve and you won’t be able to pay EnergyEnergy to put a counter on Aetherstorm Roc.
2017-02-09 Energy is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
2017-02-09 Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
2017-02-09 Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
2017-02-09 If an effect says you get one or more Energy, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more Energy, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
2017-02-09 Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
2017-02-09 You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
2017-02-09 Some triggered abilities state that you “may pay” a certain amount of Energy. You can’t pay that amount multiple times to multiply the effect. You simply choose whether or not to pay that amount of Energy as the ability resolves, and no player may take actions to try to stop the ability’s effect after you make your choice.
2017-02-09 If a triggered ability with one or more targets states that you “may pay” some amount of Energy, and each permanent that it targets has become an illegal target, the ability doesn’t resolve. You can’t pay Energy even if you want to.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.